Thousands of winners at our golf tournament


Tournament participant Kate Erickson competes in the Closest to the Pin Prize Hole.

by Louise LeGrand, Donor Relations Manager

We couldn’t have asked for a better day for our golf tournament on Thursday, Sept 13. A big high five to our friends at AbeTech who sponsored and coordinated the whole thing. Now in its third year, the Common Hope Golf Tournament broke records and made great strides toward its aim to “drive out poverty in Guatemala.”

This year, 103 golfers gathered at Fox Hollow Golf Club in St. Michael, MN. Together, we were able to raise $21,688 to fund Common Hope programs. This was an increase of 25% in participation and a 55% increase in money raised over last year.

Throughout the course, golfers participated in nine prize holes with a purpose. With the put of a marshmallow or wiffle ball, we raised enough funds to build a house in Guatemala and also to purchase school supplies for 23 kids, materials for three weeks of youth activities for 100 kids, a year of asthma treatments for two children, supplies and personnel for 35 dental check-ups, and 10 emergency food baskets which will feed a family for a month.

With that said, we’re not done yet! Mark your calendars for Thursday, September 12, 2013, when we’ll aim to fill course to capacity with 144 golfers. Just think what we could do with 41 more people golfing to benefit Common Hope. Thanks to all our wonderful sponsors, golfers, and prize donators for your generosity and for joining our effort to drive out poverty in Guatemala.

Click here for more photos from the event. Scroll down for the tournament winners, sponsors, and volunteers.

While recognizing that the greatest winners in this year’s tournament were the children and families we serve in Guatemala, our contest winners and sponsors were as follows:

Best Game: Jeffrey Smith, Jim Smith, Joe Smith, Zach Sippl

Contest Winners: Andy Dodd (Wiffle Ball Contest), Mike Jerich (Closest to the Pin), Tom Culsaw and Daniel Gregerson (Putting Contest), Derek Scanlon and Jill Masterson (Longest Drive), Dennis Flaherty (Marshmallow Put), Mark Foresman (Walk the Line), Francis Beaudry (Closest to the Pin), Team Chad Johnson (Chipping Contest), Robb Libby, Sean Murray and Rick Murray (Four for Fun).

Corporate Sponsor: AbeTech; Tournament Sponsors: Ameripride, Intertech, Intermec, Blue Star (Motorola); Hole Sponsors: MTK, Digital Printing Concepts, Inc., Boyer and Associates, Scan Source, Motorola, Dana and Katie Harms, McDonald Remodeling, Vertical Systems, Synergy Graphics, Opticon, Snap Fitness, Zebra, Power Objects. Prize Donations from Intermec, DNP Ribbons, MGS Machine, Flash 4, Diversified Labeling Solutions, IIMAK, Chris Denton, Amber, Nikki Johnson, RJF, Flexo Impressions, Pathways Counseling Center, Pro Label, Shari Blindt, Sean Murray, Xplore Technologies, Tom Sullivan, R & B Food Center.

Volunteers: Mary Bergeron, Debbie Bishop, Jim Eaton, Chris Eliason, Kathy Engstrom, Patsy Hanson, Adam Hendrickson, Denise Heuton, Laurie Johnson, Mike Koski, Matt Ladwig, Lisa Mangone, Ann Novotny, Becky Stumpf, Jennifer Toepper, Ashley Weinhandl, Jerry Wisdorf, and Mary Wisdorf.

Be Sociable, Share!
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply